This is the "Home" page of the "Current Career Communications Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Current Career Communications Research   Tags: careers jobs future work english current  

Last Updated: Sep 16, 2014 URL: http://eths.exeter.libguides.com/careercom Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Book Resources

Samples of career books available in the EHS Library

 You can search for books through the card catalog Destiny link located below this box.  Books are held in a special career section located in the far right shelves in the library. They have red labels for the call numbers.One book is required for the assignment.

Click for more information on this title

Cover image

 

Click for more information on this title

Click for more information on this title

 

 

 

Destiny Search

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Bureau of Labor Statistics

You must include information from this required online Occupational Outlook Handbook.

 

Source Card Samples

You must prepare a source card for each of your sources and that source card will be graded on the correct format.

 

Notecard Guidelines

Twenty-five notecards are required for this project. You must correctly format them. These notecards can also be used for the Graduation Project.

 

MLA Guidelines and Examples

The link below provides information to help you prepare your works cited list, citations, and provides samples of the types of sources you are required to use.

 

The End

These two documents will help you to complete the requirements for your project.

 

Assignment Requirements

You are researching a career that interests you. The 3-4 page paper will be written in MLA format. However the tone of the paper is informal and will be written in first person (I, me, my).

Source Requirements include the following:

  • Bureau of Labor Statistics Website (BLS.GOV)
  • Two online sources that are from the approved list on the learning guide
  • One book from the career library in the high school library

Points for the Process

  • Four MLA style source cards
  • 25 properly formatted note cards
  • Rough topic outline
  • Five paragraphs of the rough draft
  • Completed 3-4 page final paper

Online Resources

Select two from these options.

Many of these sites are broad databases to help people find jobs.

 Utilize the site by searching for career resources and job descriptions to help you write your paper.

Useful Websites for Job Seekers/Pennsylvania CareerLInk of Berks County

www.cwds.state.pa.us

General Job Search

National Labor Exchange www.jobcentral.com

Careers www.careers.org

Berks County Jobs www.jobsinberks.com

Career Builder www.careerbuilder.com

Career MagazIne www.careermag.com

Career Shop www.careershop.com

Jobs Online www.jobsonline.com

Jobs www.jobs.com

Quintessential Careers www.quintcareers.com

Simply Hired www.simplyhired.com

SnagAJob Part Time Jobs www.snagajob.com/job-resources/

Thingamajob www.thingamajob.com

Monsterboard www.monster.com

Top USA Jobs www.topusajobs.com

Job Search USA http://www.jobsearchusa.org

Jobalot www.jobalot.com

Nation Job www.nationjob.com

Employment Guide www.employmentguide.com

Local Jobs www.flipdog.com

Indeed www.indeed.com

Hot Jobs www.hotjobs.com

Job Bank USA www.jobbankusa.com

Job Openings www.jobopenings.net

Job Search in Specific States www.statelocalgov.net

Career Search Information

America’s Career InfoNet www.acinet.org

CareerPath www.careerpath.com

The Riley Guide www.rileyguide.com

Job Search and Support www.job-hunt.org

State and Federal Government Job Search

 PA Civil Service www.scsc.state.pa.us

Federal Jobs www.usajobs.gov

Federal Government Job Search www.federaljobsearch.com

Government  Jobs www.govjobs.com

Federal Jobs www.federaljobs.net

 Local Job Search

PA CareerLink www.cwcds.state.pa.us

National Jobs Network  www.nationjob.com/berkscnty

Philadelphia Jobs www.phillyjobs.com

Engineering Jobs www.readingengineeringjobs.com

Specialized Job Search

Trucking Jobs www.careersingear.com

Driving www.bestdriverjobs.com

Environmental Careers www.ecoemploy.com

Environmental Careers www.ecojobs.com

Financial Services Careers www.closers.net

Health Care Careers www.healthjobsusa.com

Science and Nature Careers www.nature.com/naturejobs

Oil, Energy, Geosciences Careers www.earthworks-jobs.com

Physics and Engineering Careers www.physicstoday.org

Retail Jobs www.allretailjobs.com

Telecommuting Jobs www.tjobs.com

HR Jobs www.shrm.org/jobs

Degreed Professionals www.truecareers.com

Military careers http://usmilitary.about.com/od/theorderlyroom/u/career_info.htm

Military (general) www.todaysmilitary.com

Army www.goarmy.com

Navy www.navy.com

National Guard www.nationalguard.com

Air Force www.airforce.com

Marines www.marines.com

Occupation descriptions www.onetonline.org/

State specific job information www.careerinfonet.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip