This is the "Home" page of the "Honors American Literature Research Paper" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Honors American Literature Research Paper  

Updated information about your assignment
Last Updated: Apr 20, 2015 URL: http://eths.exeter.libguides.com/content.php?pid=582986 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

2. Novel Resources

A sampling of available resources on various novels, more in the library (see card catalog/destiny to search)

Also check out Ebooks on PowerLibrary and other literary databases

Cover Art
Understanding of Mice and Men, the Red Pony and the Pearl - Claudia Durst Johnson
Call Number: 813 JOH
ISBN: 0313299668
Publication Date: 1997-06-30

Cover Art
Carson McCullers' The Member of the Wedding - Harold Bloom
Call Number: 813 CAR
ISBN: 0791081729
Publication Date: 2004-08-01

Cover Art
The Great Gatsby - F. Scott Fitzgerald; Harold Ron Bloom (Editor)
Call Number: 813.52 BLO
ISBN: 0791085805
Publication Date: 2006-04-01

Cover Art
A Reader's Guide to Amy Tan's the Joy Luck Club - Pamela Loos
Call Number: 813.54 LOO
ISBN: 9780766028326
Publication Date: 2008-04-01

Cover Art
Toni Morrison's Beloved - Harold Bloom (Editor, Introduction by, Translator)
Call Number: 813 TON
ISBN: 0791075702
Publication Date: 2003-09-01

 

3. Destiny Catalog Search

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

4. E Resources-- the Databases

These resources will do APA and MLA citations for you as well as provide scholarly information.

 

5. Literary Criticism Reference Books Available in the Library

Cover Art
Novels for Students - Diane Telgen (Editor)
Call Number: REF 809.3 NOV
ISBN: 0787616877
Publication Date: 1997-09-05
Contains entries that provide information about fifteen novels, each with an introduction to the novel and its author: a plot summary; descriptions of characters; analysis of themes; and explanation of literary technigues and movements; a historical context essay; a look at media adaptations; and reading

Cover Art
Magill's Survey of American Literature - Steven G. Kellman (Editor); Tracy Irons-Geroges (Editorial Coordinator); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Board Member); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: REF 810.9 MAG
ISBN: 1587652854
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Includes biographies and works

American Writers - Leonard Unger (Editor)
Call Number: REF 810.9 AME
ISBN: 0684173220
Publication Date: 1981-05-01
Provides information about the lives, careers and works of American writers.

Cover Art
Great American Writers - R. Baird Shuman (Editor)
Call Number: REF 810.9 GRE
ISBN: 0761472401
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Presents alphabetized profiles of ninety twentieth-century American writers of fiction, nonfiction, drama, poetry, and song lyrics, describing their lives, careers, major works, and creative inspirations

Beacham's Guide to Literature for Young Adults - Kirk H. Beetz (Editor)
Call Number: REF BEA 809.3
ISBN: 0933833113
Publication Date: 1989-10-15
A multi-volume compilation of more than 200 analytical essays on and study activities for fictional and biographical works written for young adults. Includes a short biography of the author of each analyzed work

Magill's Survey of American Literature - Frank N. Magill (Editor)
Call Number: REF 810.9 MAG
ISBN: 185435437X
Publication Date: 1991-09-01
Genres include long and short fiction, poetry, drama, and nonfiction. Writers range from classic to modern including some young adult authors often left out of literary surveys.

Critical Survey of Long Fiction - Frank N. Magill (Editor)
Call Number: 809.3 MAG
ISBN: 0893563684
Publication Date: 1987-09-01
Provides surveys of major writers, past and present

 

6. Style and Period Resources-- think "isms"

Cover Art
The American Renaissance - Harold Bloom (Introduction by)
Call Number: 810.9 AME
ISBN: 0791076768
Publication Date: 2003-12-01

Cover Art
Romanticism and Transcendentalism - Jerry Phillips (Editor); Andrew Ladd; Michael Anesko (Contribution by)
Call Number: 810.9 PHI
ISBN: 0816056684
Publication Date: 2005-12-01

American Romanticism - Jennifer A. Hurley
Call Number: 810.9
ISBN: 0737702036
Publication Date: 1999-09-01

Cover Art
American Naturalism - Harold Bloom (Introduction by)
Call Number: 813 AME
ISBN: 0791078973
Publication Date: 2004-04-01

American Realism - Christopher E. Smith
Call Number: 810.9 AME
ISBN: 0737703245
Publication Date: 2000-01-01

Cover Art
Realism and Regionalism - Roger Lathbury; Jerry Phillips (Editor); Michael Anesko (Contribution by)
Call Number: 810.9 LAT
ISBN: 0816056692
Publication Date: 2005-12-01

Cover Art
The Harlem Renaissance - Harold Bloom (Editor, Introduction by, Translator)
Call Number: 810.9 HAR
ISBN: 0791076792
Publication Date: 2003-12-01

 

11. The Working Oultine

 

12. From Notecards to Draft-- Writing the Paper

 

13. Sample Paper and Draft Conference

Exeter Township Senior High School Library

Profile Image
Tera McFarland
Contact Info
Exeter Twp. Senior High School Library
201 E. 37th Street
Reading, PA 19606
Send Email
 

7. Author Resources- for background

A sampling of available author information plus much more on the card catalogue (destiny)

Cover Art
Jack London - Elaine Slivinski Lisandrelli
Call Number: 813 LIS
ISBN: 0766011445
Publication Date: 1999-10-01

Cover Art
Readings on Stephen King - Karin S. Coddon (Editor)
Call Number: 813 REA
ISBN: 0737716665
Publication Date: 2004-01-01

William Faulkner - Clarice Swisher (Editor)
Call Number: 813 REA
ISBN: 1565106415
Publication Date: 1997-09-01

Cover Art
Black American Women Fiction Writers - Harold Bloom (Introduction by)
Call Number: 813 BLA
ISBN: 0791022080
Publication Date: 1995-11-01

Cover Art
A Student's Guide to Ernest Hemingway - Timothy J. Pingelton
Call Number: 813 PIN
ISBN: 0766024318
Publication Date: 2005-07-01

Cover Art
Student Companion to Nathaniel Hawthorne - Melissa McFarland Pennell
Call Number: 813 PEN
ISBN: 0313305951
Publication Date: 1999-08-30

 

8. Your Evolving Thesis

 

9. Compiling Your Working Source List

You need a minimum of 5 sources for this paper.  The majority of your sources must come from books or databases.  If you "random google" a source that you you feel is credible and valuabe, you must evaluate it using the criteria oultined on the source criteria checklist attached to this box.  The checklist must accompany your printed working source list.

The source list must be done in MLA guidelines.  Proper format is outlined in your research text (page 122), a sample appears on page 124.  You are responsible for proper formatting and typing.

     

    10. Notes on Notecards

     

    14. The Rubric

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip